Foresight is overrated…mostly

I sometimes have foresight: certain outcomes are very easy to predict. I have even had a few deja vu dreams. It never does any good. One person with foresight (or modest reasoning skills) cannot change most outcomes. People have a gift for not hearing what they don’t want to hear, and someone else pointing out an inevitable outcome does no good.

One of the existentialists wrote about coming back knowing the results of your decisions…and being forced by circumstances to make those same decisions again. So mostly I don’t think much of foresight.

And yet…I am trying to help my grandmother apply for Veteran’s Administration (VA)  Aid and Assistance.  I was pointed in the direction of a “VA Accredited Claims Agent”. They charge a fee, a relatively hefty one, especially considering that the people they represent are low income. The fee has to be paid by someone other than the veteran or surviving spouse…and the payer is not to be reimbursed.

They sent me some paperwork and reading it makes me wonder whether they are on the up and up. I don’t know that there is anything wrong; it just has a slimy feel. A little foresight would not come amiss right now. It could save me both money and angst. It might be worth a day (especially if it save me a bunch of time and trouble) to know whether trusting these folks is a good idea or not.

On the other hand if they are competent it could be worth it. I am having trouble getting the time to do the most basic stuff. Not using this outfit means trying to find someone else to help. I make calls in the morning, then go to deal with my grandmother’s dogs so she can go to lunch, plus miscellaneous errands, come home to find I have missed the return calls. Try again. It can take more than a week to speak to one person and not be any further ahead.  I would definitely give up a hot day running errands and scooping poop for the foresight to know if this is worth it.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Advantage of Foresight.”

 

Leave a Reply

