Fountain of Youth

The question is: If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?

The question resonates with me because I am feeling a bit…well…old right now.

This morning I have that sharp pain in the middle of my back that comes from carrying an unbalanced load. That means I didn’t put both straps of my overloaded purse-backpack thing on, yet again.

(It just occurred to me that the above sentence is a metaphor for my life! Must try to remember to explore that idea, but back to topic.)

I have always gotten that pain, at least ever since college, and I have blanked out most memories from before then. The main differences are that it used to take a bigger load (calculus text books are heavy!),  now just laying on my back on the floor for an hour doesn’t work, and aspirin gives me a stomach ache so I have to just tough it out. I will need to be careful for a whole week to make up for one day of careless shopping/errand running

The other thing that makes me feel old this week is that I had a passport type picture taken to send in for a visa to go visit my son and it was hard, very hard, to look at that picture. My eyes look really old and crinkly, my skin also looks really sallow almost jaundiced.

I have some excuses: When I went to my local drug store to have the picture taken they had some challenges:

  • The area where they took the picture was painted a rather unfortunate shade of mustard-y yellow and they had florescent lights. In the first shot he took I looked like an orange alien with lizard eyes!
  • They make you take your glasses off, so I was squinting to try and see the camera and guy who was giving me instructions.
  • The background screen was mounted too low so I had to stand with bent knees but strait enough to be face on to the camera in order to be centered, the “neither up nor down” position in The Grand Old Duke of York song. It was a bit uncomfortable, probably making the facial expression (a.k.a. wrinkles) worse.
  • You aren’t allowed to smile. ( That is really too bad because I had to repress a broad grin about what the fellow shoppers were seeing!) I like to think my winning smile outshines my many physical quirks.

Excuses aside, the reality is that I will never be 20, 30, 40 or even 50 again. So would I drink from the fountain of youth?  The answer is sometimes I would and sometimes I wouldn’t.

Today I might. In fact after seeing those pictures, I am trying to drink a lot of water in hopes of re-hydrating  my prune-y eyes a bit (along with slathering on moisturizer and taking a multi-vitamin, I have been neglecting to take care of myself and spending too much time unprotected in the sun this busy summer).

Other days would have other answers, because, in general, I feel pretty good, better in many ways than I did at times when I was younger, even if I don’t look as good. That doesn’t bother me a lot since I don’t look at myself much, and my husband is too fond of me to say anything.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Forever Young.”

6 thoughts on “Fountain of Youth”

  1. Hi! Don’t worry so much about passeport photographs! I had mine taken for a visa 2 weeks ago and my husband asked me “is that really you? god! you look like you are 60 (I am forty)! Well, you see it is the same problem with (ageing) passeport photos around the globe….
    By the way, I have nominated you for an Infinity Dreams Award if you feel like taking part in the game, that might replace the fountain of youth for a few minutes 😉
    https://unpiediciunpiedlabas.wordpress.com/2015/08/25/an-infinity-dreams-award-youre-next/

    Like

    1. Merci beaucoup. J’aime beaucoup votre website (J’etudiais Francais avant le world wide web, donc je ne sais pas le vocabulaire pour cela), alors votre nomination me semble tres bien. Mais je ne peut pas penser des reponses aux questions.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

