Diagonal Play

This post is a response to Cee’s Compose Yourself Challenge Diagonal Lines.

Here are some pictures of a sculpture with a really strong diagonal line (I actually took them for Week 3 of Cee’s Compose Yourself Challenge, but could’t post them in China). After reading the week 3 essay I really wanted to try it out, but had to get a bus to the train station so I took these in the hotel lobby while I waited.

Which one do you like? I kind of like the first one. In some ways it contains a bit of each of the lessons about lines: The column between the front doors leads you eye up to the teapot and the backdrop of vertical and horizontal lines on the wall behind the front desk make the diagonal lines of the splash noticeable, much more than they are in the second picture which was taken about the same distance away but from the front door side. In the last, taken from by the doors but at about the center of the sculpture, the splash appears almost as big as the stream coming from the teapot and the teapot becomes less noticeable.

Some other diagonal pictures:

While this isn’t my favorite picture I did one more experiment with this one from week 6 horizontal lines…I took my favorite rendition and removed the diagonal of the beach from it.

I still like the middle one best, and I think the diagonal line of the beach is at least part of why.

2 thoughts on “Diagonal Play”

  1. It is a great piece of art, but I found it difficult to photograph due to its size relative to size of the lobby, also the lighting was kind of strange with the bright white daylight coming through the windows and different parts of the lobby were either bright or fairly dark. Even though it is inside it might be fun to have seen it at different times of day, say at dawn or dusk or even at night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

