Mouse Droppings

Ah, the magic of the New Year, time to hit the restart button on a healthy life style after the decadence of the holiday season. This year I have scoped down my hopes for the future: I don’t care how much I weigh or how I look. I just want to be able to drive without stinky air being blown at me. It is a resolution about health, but not in the usual way.

The Monday before New Year’s we were headed over to my dad’s to pick up the remnants of the Christmas festivities. I started to back out of the drive way when…what was that noxious smell?

Mice had decided to hole up in my car engine, specifically the ventilation system to get out of the cold weather. Yuck. Yuck. Yuck. (One “yuck” is inadequate.)

My husband dismantled the glove compartment, vacuumed and cleaned at the cabin air filter (dislodging some of the droppings onto the blower in the process) and washed at various other spots he thought might be helpful. The earliest we could get it into the dealership to have the vent system cleaned out was yesterday. I spent the week driving around, in pretty cold weather, with the glove box on the floor of the passenger seat and my windows open.

I don’t need a luxurious lifestyle, but this really isn’t adequate.

I tend to take a live and let live approach to wildlife…until they cross a line. Believe me they are across it. I won’t say I have no mercy, but darned little. My New Year’s resolution is short term: get the back yard cleaned up so our little friends will migrate elsewhere and I can park in my driveway again. I sure hope it can be achieved.

Resolved

5 thoughts on “Mouse Droppings”

  1. I’m all for mother nature… until it invades my space. Many a morning in high school my parents were awakened by me in the shower with a shampoo bottle in hand, whaling the tar out of the luckless centipede I’d caught in the acrylic tub. Them suckers never knew what hit ’em.

    Like

Leave a Reply

