Luxury. What is a luxury?

Today’s prompt:

Keeping up with the Jones’s: Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.

This really got me thinking. The Google defines luxury thus:

lux·u·ry
ˈləkSH(ə)rē,ˈləɡZH(ə)rē/
noun
1.the state of great comfort and extravagant living. “he lived a life of luxury.

Here is a facebook post I made a few years ago:

A flush toilet, hot shower and clean hair are my favorite luxuries but they do not make up for the sorrow of saying goodbye to friends. We are back in Nairobi now, clean and fresh, but a little sad.

 

KSM-20120226-Luxuries-01-720pxThis sums up my view of luxury. I do like to be clean and have comfort, but people matter to me more. The toilet and “shower” available in the village  was this:
These were, in fact, luxurious compared to what most people who lived there had, and I was darned happy to have them.
Today the back of my legs are hurting because of yard work I am doing to make our yard less hospitable to mice (see Mouse Droppings). It would be a luxury to not feel my legs, and yet it is a luxury to have a yard and garden…and a car. It is even a luxury to have legs that work, and they are sore because my life is really pretty easy.
I am not sure what the Jones’s have…or don’t have, but I am pretty happy with what I have and don’t feel like there is anything I really want, although less achy legs would be nice.

 
Keeping up with the Jones’
 

One thought on “Luxury. What is a luxury?”

Leave a Reply

