Summer Shadows

The Shadow prompt today reminded me of this picture I took last summer: shadows of the maple tree in our yard projected on our kitchen wall. The photos on the wall are ones my father-in-law took of wildflowers in Texas.

One reason I took this picture is that the shadows were not cast by direct sunlight. The window faces east and the picture was taken in the evening. The light causing the shadows was from all of the surfaces reflecting the evening sunlight (especially the windows and walls of the houses across the street). It surprised me that the reflected light could be s bright and create such crisp shadows. The picture makes me think about Plato’s cave…

Maybe I thought of this picture because Monday morning bright and early they will begin remodeling the kitchen, this wall is the only one that will see little or no change.

Leave a Reply

