A Man Named Buddy

The first thing that came to my mind when I saw the prompt Buddy, is a man named Buddy. I do not know if he has another, more formal name. he is the guy in the black T-shirt.

Buddy personifies his name, he lights up a room when he enters it. He projects life and energy and compassion. I have never met anyone else who has that gift to the extent he does.

He is the son of a close childhood friend of my grandmother’s, Aunt Dot, and a close childhood friend of my grandfather’s, Uncle Spike. The picture above is from a few years ago. That was the first time I had seen Buddy in many years, and I have only seen him once since. Probably never will again, since Aunt Dot passed away and Grandma isn’t traveling much.

Buddy is about my mother’s age and the families were quite close when I was young, however, as so often happens people grow apart. In this case the death of Uncle Spike and my grandparents moving away started the drift, then life, in the form of school and work and family pretty much completed it. I had forgotten him, not his name, but his presence, until I took Grandma to visit Aunt Dot about four years ago and he came over to see her.

Buddy has a limp. I don’t know why, I never asked. I think that may be because he projects vigor and liveliness so one doesn’t remember or think about it. He is great guy and well known locally for his parking lot sales that he organized for the Make a Wish Foundation. A few years his was one of the most successful sales. I can see where his enthusiasm would be contagious and lead to success.

Buddy, although not someone I am personally close to is one of the people who make the world a better place just by being in it. What more can you ask of a buddy?

 

One thought on “A Man Named Buddy”

Leave a Reply

