Three minutes thought

I started this post as part of Quote Challenge*, to post a quote three days running. Of course I wandered off course…in fact I haven’t posted since this came through over a week ago.  I think the commitment caused me to have a block and I am too stubborn to do anything else until I get this over with. So here are three quotes with some asides. Not quite right but I need to get un-blocked.

 

Quote 1: A favorite of mine is

“Three minutes’ thought would suffice to find this out; but thought is irksome and three minutes is a long time.”

How very true that was when A.E. Housman penned it, but it is even truer now. Just think he penned it! It wasn’t a video clip or a pretty picture with the inspirational quote in a fancy font across it, or a tweet. How many “likes” would it get today? Maybe a bunch if it came out as snarky.

How we use words has changed so much…or has it?

Quote 2:  I don’t know why this came to mind but there was a great comic in last Wednesday’s paper: Arlo and Janis by Jinny Johnson.

“so, you speak into the phone and it sends a text to Robin”

“yes”

“and she’ll speak into her phone, and you’ll get a text back”

“yes”

“phones have come a long way from when you just talked to each other.”

Just think how much effort has gone into technology so people can talk to each other! How irksome is that?

The point of developing voice recognition technology is that people feel the need to talk to machines as if they were people. Now interpersonal communication is filtered through what machines can understand…Does anyone else find that a tad creepy?

3) I have a vague memory of a quote:

The only way to get good luck is to keep your eyes on the ball, stay in the fairway…and don’t overbid your hand.

No idea who it came from and the Google couldn’t do anything with it, which probably means I mis-remembered it. I took my eye off the ball and overbid my hand trying to do three posts in three days.

*Quote Challenge:

  1. For three consecutive days, you have to post a quote.
  2. Acknowledge the blogger who has nominated you. Thank you to Mia at I am rooted but I flow for thinking I could pull this off. Sorry I broke the chain.
  3. Each day you have to nominate three different bloggers.
  4. Let the bloggers know you have nominated them.

No nominations….but if you want to post a quote by all means do so.

This,  and many of the “prize” things floating around don’t seem to work for me: it takes me too long to figure out what to do and find someone to pass the buck to. The harder it is the less I want to nominate someone else for the difficulty.

Does anyone else out there choke like that?

 

Leave a Reply

