Surprise visitor

I looked up from washing dishes and there was a hawk sitting on the rail of our deck.

I  have never seen one there before. I raced off to find my camera and, as quietly as I could, I removed the screen and opened the window. It didn’t notice the screen removal but flew up into our maple tree when I opened the window.

We tried to figure out what type of hawk it was using the pictures and a field guide, but only got as far as recognizing that it was immature. It is likely either a Sharp-shinned or Cooper’s hawk. Both common around here, but not in my front yard.

It made my day.

Cherry On Top

8 thoughts on “Surprise visitor”

Leave a Reply

