My world

Today is a snow day. Rare for Seattle.

Cee’s Share Your World questions and answers:

Regarding your fridge, is it organized or a mess inside? Both. I try to have places for things, but our fridge is small so when I have to prep a holiday meal or something similar things go where they fit. That leads to a LIFO (Last In First Out) organization system. That means that I usually have a few items toward the back that are ready in case I decide to get out a microscope and study microbes. Maybe my fridge is a metaphor for my life?

Do you prefer your food separated or mixed together? It depends. I am sensitive to texture in food and won’t eat things like oatmeal or malt-o-meal so texture plays in how I combine things. Ironically I like pureed soups like potato-leek or potage des legumes (yes I know this means “vegetable soup”, however, the way I make it is based on a delightful bowl we had in Rocamadour, France in 2001 that was pureed, so I always connect the French with puree and the English with chunks). I do like to combine flavors (naturally I have excellent taste;) but not go overboard.

Do you prefer reading coffee table books (picture), biographies, fiction, non-fiction, educational? It depends. I have very eclectic taste in literature. My life is being a bit dramatic right now so I am not reading anything intense. I have book marks in two books now: The Bear in the Attic, a collection of humorous short stories by Patrick McManus and Writing Down the Bones, a book about writing, by Natalie Goldberg. The McManus book was a Christmas gift, and I got the other book at Half-Price Books a while ago, not sure why it caught my eye.

Close your eyes. Listen to your body. What part of your body is seeking attention? What is it telling you? My rib cage is reminding me that I fell about a month ago and did something to it, and my back is telling me that I carried an unbalanced load yesterday. Maybe the two together are telling me it is cold and I am getting old.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? We had a short visit from my son, took him to the airport yesterday, for the past two weeks. This coming week doesn’t hold anything that I am looking forward to, but it snowed! and I don’t have to go anywhere! so I can enjoy the beauty of it in comfort.

 

3 thoughts on “My world”

Leave a Reply

