My World

It’s still raining, on and off, sometimes heavily, and the skies are pretty dark, but it is a lot warmer than it was a week ago. Many of the buds who were curled up tight against the cold  last week have started to cautiously unfurl. I feel kind of the same way right now: I switched to a lighter coat, but my heavy winter one is still by the door, along with wool scarf, hat and heavy gloves… just in case.

Cee’s Share Your World‘s Questions and Answers for this week:

Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster? I only push more than once if the light doesn’t come on, or I notice that I hit down when I meant up or vice versa. It doesn’t make the elevator come faster.

There aren’t many elevators in my life right now: the one I use most is at the nursing home where grandma is right now: that elevator doesn’t have a call button; you have to swipe a special visitor badge. Inside it you have to swipe and push a button to choose the floor (this isn’t logical since there is only one level you can go to on that elevator. You have to take different elevators to go to the other floors, and you have to have the right badge for each elevator or it won’t come. It’s a security thing.

Do you plan out things usually or do you do them more spontaneous (for example if you are visiting a big city you don’t know?) It may sound strange but my answer is “yes”. I spend a good bit of time researching to know what I might want to see, when the hours of operation are for different places, putting together a list of possibilities. Once I have a pretty good handle on all my options, I wing it.

For example: I have one day to “kill” in Beijing on an up-coming trip, waiting for my son to join me so we can head out together. I’ve researched my options for how to get into the city from the airport and things to see near where the airport transportation takes me. I have a list of possibilities and will figure out what to do when the time comes. Planning is part of the fun…but so is taking advantage of the circumstances.

Describe yourself in at least four uplifting words. I find myself wondering what “uplifting” means in this context…I always have trouble with this sort of thing. Not because I have poor self esteem, but because putting words on things, especially me, has always been a challenge for me.

Once in a college transfer application I responded to a “describe yourself” question by quoting a poem by Shel Silverstien (apologies if my memory of the words isn’t perfect):

My skin is sort of brownish, pinkish, yellowish white.
My eyes are grayish, blueish green,
but I’m told they look orange in the night.
My hair is reddish, blondish brown,
but it’s silver when it’s wet
And all the colors I am inside
have not been invented yet.

For what it’s worth: I got in…It was MIT.

If you had a choice which would be your preference: salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, ocean cruise, hot tub, ski resort or desert?  While the last three appeal to me less than the first, I’ve enjoyed all of them except the ski resort at some point (and I could enjoy that: although I haven’t skied for 40 years, I like mountain scenery, to ice skate, snow shoe and hike…and I’m very good at sitting in front of the fire!).

Gratitude: The weather has turned toward spring and a little spring cleaning happened. How often do those two go together?

Looking ahead: I’m hoping to get a period between showers long enough to prune my roses and dry enough to pull a few weeds. With travel coming up soon a quiet week to get things done around the house is appealing.

3 thoughts on “My World”

Leave a Reply

