Rose petals

Rose petal is a texture: soft,  in a silky way, cool and slightly moist. A bit like charmeuse, but less slippery and a bit more substantial, and the best ones have a slight rose fragrance as well. It’s hard to capture that feeling in a photograph.

This morning I “harvested” my roses. So the dropping petals are my texture for today. By harvesting I mean a combination of dead heading and cutting the flowers and buds, for vases now and, if I stick to my intentions, drying petals for culinary use later. I saw a scrumptious looking recipe for scones that use rose petals and pistachios that I want to try.

I think there is a pretty good chance for a second wave: in Seattle one wouldn’t guess that we’re at the solstice, it’s pretty cool, although the promised rain hasn’t materialized in our part of town. Doesn’t feel much like summer, but it beats the heat wave elsewhere.

Any advice about other ways to cook with rose petals? I use rose water quite a bit but I’ve only seen the one recipe with petals in it.

Tuesdays of Texture & Cee’s Flower of the Day

2 thoughts on “Rose petals”

Leave a Reply

