Emergency Sunset

Driving home from my dad;s tonight I saw purple in the sky. From the raod I couldn’t really see much, but I was fairly close to a waterfront park (Lowman Beach in West Seattle) so I pulled over and trotted the block or so to the park.

20170625-KSM-Sunset-03

It’s been a busy week: my niece graduated from high school and I arranged to get my 94 year old grandmother who is mobility impaired to the ceremony. My husband retired on Friday and we had a celebration dinner party. We had a family gathering today at my dad’s to celebrate a belated father’s day, the graduation, and retirement.

20170625-KSM-Sunset-02

I almost didn’t stop for the sunset, since I was ready to be home. However, the twenty minutes or so I spent just being there, watching the shifting colors as the rays of the sun hit different clouds and breathing the salt air were more uplifting than getting home to unload the car and put things away a few minutes earlier. You can’t go back and see a sunset you have missed.

20170625-KSM-Sunset-04

As the sky darkened I noticed the minuscule sliver of the new moon above Mount Constance. A symbol of a new beginning, change, and the circle of life. All the things today’s celebration were about.

Maybe I need to make a bumper sticker or t-shirt that says: I break for sunsets.

Transient

5 thoughts on “Emergency Sunset”

Leave a Reply

