No time for an egg

My favorite breakfast is an egg, a piece of toast, and a tomato (grilled) or a piece of fruit. This weekend I’m attending a conference and have been settling for cold cereal. With a be-downtown-by-9:00am deadline, I was thrilled that it was fallback day. Mornings aren’t my best thing.

I hussled the pups around a few blocks and couldn’t figure out where my temporal margin of safety went. Grabbed my pack and headed briskly up the hill to the bus stop. It was a cold but not torrential rain during these activities.

I saw a bus stopping from a block away. I don’t run for buses on principal, but especially not when the pavement is wet. The bus lingered at the stop, long enough that I started to hope, so I made my slow pantomime of running in case the driver was looking, . The bus pulled out when I was less than twenty feet from it. So much for on-time.

I sat on the icy cold bench. To make it extra uncomfortable it is a metal mesh. Which means it conducts the icy cold ambient temperature  and allows an icy breeze through, so it stays cold. After a few minutes the rain changed to snow. The next bus was only 15 minutes later but my toes, and other parts, were numbing up nicely by then.

On the bus I looked at my watch and realized that I hadn’t changed it. Instead of being a few minutes late I was too early and needed to find a way to kill time and stay warm in the Sunday morning desert of downtown.

So I got my egg after all.

If I had been a little more on it I could have had it at home, where it was warm, instead of the bagel sandwich shop where I got hit with a blast of cold air every time someone came in.

I realized that my alarm is on my cell phone, which automatically updates, and every other clock in the house, plus my wrist watch was on yesterday time (my husband usually handles this chore but he is out of town). Has anyone else forgotten to change their clocks back?

Leave a Reply

